The Founders

Singularity University was jointly founded by Dr. Peter H. Diamandis and Dr. Ray Kurzweil. The concept of Singularity University was proposed by Diamandis to Kurzweil and to International Space University colleagues Dr. Robert D. Richards and Michael Simpson, who became Founding Trustees in mid-2007. Susan Fonseca played a strong role as a founding architect.

Associate Founders

  • Moses Znaimer
  • Keith and Mariela Kleiner
  • Barney Pell
  • Klee Irwin
  • Sonia Arrison Senkut
  • Dan Stoicescu
  • Reese Jones
  • David S. Rose
  • Peter L. Bloom
  • Geoffrey Shmigelsky
  • Georges Harik
  • Rob Nail

Corporate Founders

Founding Conference

Following the inception of the idea, Susan Fonseca was recruited to assemble support for the proposed University. Susan was instrumental in organizing and executing the Founding Conference in September 2008 and finding initial donors. At the first meeting of the Board of Trustees, Salim Ismail was appointed as the founding Executive Director.

Along with curriculum guidance and important support from Christopher Boshuizen, William Marshall, Amara Angelica, Kathryn Myronuk, and Emeline Paat-Dahstrom, the first iteration of Singularity University was established with inspiration from the interdisciplinary, international and inter-cultural principles originally pioneered by ISU. With the leadership of Dr. Pete Worden and his colleagues, Singularity University established a partnership with NASA to host their Executive and Global Solutions Programs on the NASA Research Park in Moffett Field.